The Dockland Motor Expo thinginy-jig

15 Jun

So, this weekend, I had a hankering to watch the film Amelie. Don’t know why, these things just happen, particularly with Amelie which is an especially beauteous film. So off I went on my little bicycle to an HMV in Canary Wharf, purportedly my closest outlet. As I arrive there, what should Carficionado see before his very eyes? A car show. Suffice it to say that I had no choice but to get snapping and report back to you, the good people. Here’s what I saw, bearing in mind that I don’t think car manufacturers were waiting for the Docklands Motor Expo to unveil any of their latest offerings.

First off, I saw this rather tasty MX5 roadster type thing. I didn’t enquire as to what its purpose in life was (Mille Miglia in an MX5?) but it looked cool.

Then I saw what was for me a bit of a revelation. The new Saab 9-5. I like Saabs. My dad has an old 9-5 estate and it’s a very nice place to be. I personally thought the new car looked stunning (sorry for News of the World terminology there). There’s a hint of the Vauxhall Monaro about its rear fascia, which is fine but the overall shape and design of the front? Sehr gut! Echt gut! In the automotive world where so much slime carries on living regardless (I’m looking at you Kia Magentis), Saab’s a company that deserves a new beginning and particularly a GM-less one, and I hope that this 9-5 marks the start of that emancipation.

Elsewhere I saw a Tesla, which is no longer newsworthy I don’t think, but good to see one up close. The new Jaguar XJ which looks nearly very very brilliant. There’s just something that I don’t like about it though. Can’t quite put my finger on it. Although the interior, I can safely report, was luscious.

One genuinely new car was Mini’s new Countryman. Now I’ve been in a fair few regular Minis and they are very cramped. Considering Alec Issigonis’ original was roughly the size of one of the newer Mini’s wheels, it was certainly about as, if not more, practical. The Countryman is intended to target the Golf more directly, and doubtless will. It was notably bigger, a little jacked up as if intending to do some soft-roading and had a decent sized boot. I couldn’t get this image out of my mind though. Imagine a regular Mini sneezing….

Otherwise it was business as usual. The new Volvo S60 which looks….pretty good. A brace of Norton motorbikes which look the part but are heinously expensive, more than twice the price of my Triumph Bonneville. And the new BMW 5 Series, which looked so anonymous that I barely noticed it. Does have a very big boot though. So the Docklands Expo, or whatever it was called. Not the greatest car show I’ve ever been to, but always nice to spend a Saturday sniffing around some shiny new cars.

Now, something which I didn’t see at the Expo but is still noteworthy was this rather tasty Renault Alpine GTA that I stumbled upon in rural Oxfordshire. Didn’t get to hear its V6 unfortunately, but I always enjoy spotting a bit of curios.

Leave a Reply

